The Department of Psychiatry was established in 2008. Undergraduate teaching was commenced for third and fourth year students in the following year. In January 2017, the professorial psychiatry ward which is a 34-bedded inpatient facility at the Anuradhapura Teaching Hospital was opened to facilitate teaching of final year medical students.

The department is actively involved in providing a dedicated clinical service as well as teaching and research in psychiatry.